LiquidFiles Documentation

Secure Messages Configuration

Pretty much all settings available can either have their default values changed, and make them visiable or invisible to the users in the group you're editing.

The Secure Message configuration is available in the Message Settings tab.

Message Expiration

The following settings are the default message expiration settings for Local Users:

Message Expiration

Message Expiration (time)

On default, Secure Message expire after 30 days. Users can change this and set a maximum of up to 180 days in the future.

If for instance, you wanted to set that Secure Messages always had an expiration of 60 days, and users couldn't change that, you would uncheck the "Users in this group can change message expiration days?" and set the default value to 60 days. What would happen is that the setting to change message expiration would not be shown to users and messages would use the default value of 60 days.

Expires After

The Expires After setting controls how many times a recipient can access the message (for Private Messages), and how many times the recipient can download any attachment.

  • If you Require Authentication, LiquidFiles knows who has accessed the message and the expires after is per recipient. A setting of 3 means that the recipient can download each attached file 3 times.
  • if you Don't Require Authentication, LiquidFiles don't know who has accessed the message and the expires after is a total combined value. A setting of 3 means that an attached file can only be downloaded 3 times, so if you send a message to 5 people, only the 3 first ones that attempts to download the attached file will succeed.

If for instance you always wanted all attached files to expire after 5 downloads, you would set the default value of 5 downloads and uncheck "Users in this group can change Expires After?". Unchecking this will remove the setting from the interface for users in this group.

Recipient Limitations Local Users

If you edit one of the Local User Groups, you will see the following settings:

Recipient Limitations Local Users

You can limit what email domains users in this group can send Secure Messages to, and set advanced regular expression limitations or blocks on recipients.

Limit and Blocked Recipient Domains

You can configure either Limit Recipient Domains or Blocked Recipient Domains, but not both for the same group.

  • If you add domain.com to Limit Recipient Domains, users in this group can only send to users@domain.com.
  • If you add domain.com to Blocked Recipient Domains, users in this group can send to all recipients except users@domain.com.
Limit and Blocked Recipient Pattern matching

You can also use Regular Expiressions to either Limit or Block recipients.

As an example, if you add .*anna.*@.* to Block Recipient Pattern matching, users will not be able to send Secure Messages to anna@company.com or hannah@otherdomain.com.

If you're not fluent in Regular Expressions, you probably want to avoid using Recipient Pattern matching. LiquidFiles support will not be able to support you creating or troubleshooting Regular Expressions.

Can send to Existing Users Only

With this setting enabled, users in this group will only be able to send to users that already exist on this LiquidFiles system.

Recipient Limitations External Users

If you edit one of the External User Groups, you will see the following settings:

Recipient Limitations External Users

First, it's a good idea to add your Local Domains to the list of Limit Recipient Domains for External User Groups.

In External User Groups, there's a couple of additional settings:

Can Send to Local Users

If users exist, or can be looked up (LDAP) as Local Users, permit recipient to users in this group.

Can Send to Local Users Only

Enabled by default, and only possible to disable in custom External User Groups. Disabling this will permit users in this group to send to non-local users, same as a Local User would be permitted to.

Disabling this will consume licenses for users in this group.

Message Access Permissions

Please see the Access Permission documentation for a description what each Access Permission setting does.

The following Message Access Permission settings are the default settings:

Message Access Permissions

The settings are devided into two parts. What's the default values and what's available in the interface.

Please note that there's no validation of this input. You could technically make "Specifified Recipients and Domains" the default but not include that in the list of available options leading to strange results.
Setting Default Values

The first checkbox and select dropdown — Default Require Authentication and Default Access Permissions set the default Secure Message Authentication and Secure Message Access Permission value for users in this group.

The next checkbox, Users in this group can change Access Permission? sets if the settings are available to change for users. When disabled, the checkboxes in the interface will be removed.

Available Permission Settings in the User Interface

If you don't want users to have access to certain Permission Settings, you can remove any of the individual Access Permission settings. Please make sure that you include the default value above.

Message Parameters ActionScript

The Message Parameter ActionScript is a way to programatically change the message parameters during message delivery. You can for instance set the Access Permision to "Specified Recipients Only" if the subject contains the word "secret" and things like that.

Message Parameters ActionScript

Please see the Message Parameters ActionScript documentation for more information.

Message Reply

In the Message Reply section, you can set both if Message Replies should be enabled on default and if users in this group can enable or disable Message Replies themselves.

Message Reply

Send a Copy to Myself

In the Send a Copy to Myself section, you can set both if users should be sent a copy of messages they send on default, and if users should be able to change this setting.

Send a Copy to Myself

Private Message

Private Messages don't include the body of the message in the email sent to the recipient.

  • You can send a Private Message without attachments.
  • You will receive access receipt when someone has viewed your message.
  • You can't send a private message with the Download Permission that Anyone can download.

In the Private Message Section, you can set if the Private Message setting should be enabled on default and if users in this group can change the Private Message setting.

Private Message

Message Deivery ActionScript

The Message Delivery ActionScript is a way to execute a script when a message is delivered to a user within this group.

Please see the Message Delivery ActionScript documentation for more information.

Message Deivery ActionScript